Bobbi Pritt, M.D., and J. Kenneth Schoolmeester, II, M.D., Receive 2017 Teacher of Year Awards

Bobbi Pritt, M.D., and J. Kenneth Schoolmeester, II, M.D., were recently selected as recipients of the 2017 Pathology Teacher of the Year Award from the Mayo Fellows’ Association.

On Wednesday, April 12, the awards were presented at the 48th Annual Awards Celebration of the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association, Mayo Fellows’ Association, and the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education in Phillips Hall of the Siebens Building on the Rochester campus.

Bobbi Pritt, M.D.

About Dr. Bobbi Pritt
Dr. Pritt is the Director of the Clinical Parasitology Laboratory and Co-Director of Mayo’s Vector-Borne Diseases Laboratory Services. She is a Consultant in the Division of Clinical Microbiology and holds the academic rank of Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology. She also serves as Vice Chair of Education within DLMP.

Dr. Pritt’s research focuses on clinical parasitology, vector-borne diseases, emerging pathogens, trainee education, and optimizing laboratory test utilization. She has overseen the development of multiple real-time polymerase chain-reaction assays for parasites and vector-borne infections and has recently characterized two new tick-borne human pathogens in the upper Midwest.

Dr. Pritt received her M.D. from the University of Vermont College of Medicine and completed her residency in anatomic and clinical pathology at Fletcher Allen Heath Care/University of Vermont Medical Center, followed by a fellowship in medical microbiology from the Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.

J. Kenneth Schoolmeester, II, M.D.

About Dr. J. Kenneth Schoolmeester
Dr. Schoolmeester is a Senior Associate Consultant in the Division of Anatomic Pathology. He holds the academic rank of Assistant Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology.

Dr. Schoolmeester received his M.D. from the Medical College of Virginia, completed residency in anatomic pathology at Mayo Clinic and fellowships at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.

About the Mayo Clinic Teacher of the Year Awards
The Mayo Clinic Teacher of the Year Awards originated in 1970 with the Internal Medicine Residents’ Education Committee during the chairmanship of Allan L. Plummer, M.D., who termed the awards “a long overdue expression of appreciation.”

The awards have since been presented annually and have expanded to include all departments campus-wide in Rochester and are awarded by the Mayo Fellows’ Association. Nominees are submitted by residents and fellows from their respective departments and are voted on by all residents and fellows. The winning characteristics of Mayo’s Teacher of the Year recipients have always been dedication to resident teaching, going above and beyond regular duties, and serving as mentors for young physicians in training.


April Josselyn

April Josselyn is a Marketing Associate at Mayo Medical Laboratories. She is the editor of Mayo Clinic PathWays and supports corporate communications strategies and internal communications. She has worked at Mayo Clinic since 2012. Outside of work, April enjoys the outdoors and being "hockey mom" for her two sports-crazed boys.