Utilization Management 2016 Speaker Bios


Mayo Medical Laboratories' Fourth Annual Utilization Management Conference will feature medical and administrative leaders across the healthcare industry who will share insights that contribute to each of their organizations’ sustainability strategies.


Khanikhani-headerJulie Khani joined ACLA in July 2013 as senior vice president and was named Executive Vice President in March 2016. In her current role, Ms. Khani oversees the advocacy, policy, and communications functions at ACLA and leads association efforts on implementation of the Clinical Laboratory Fee Schedule provisions of the Protecting Access to Medicare Act.

Prior to joining ACLA, Ms. Khani served in senior roles at the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) as vice president of public policy and director of federal legislative affairs. During her tenure at NACDS, she was instrumental in the inclusion of pharmacy access standards in the Medicare Part D benefit, establishing incentives for TRICARE beneficiaries to obtain immunizations at retail pharmacies, and she played a leading role in implementation of the Affordable Care Act provisions on Medicaid reimbursement for generic drugs.

Previously, Ms. Khani served as legislative manager at Ford Motor Company where she was responsible for health and labor issues and the company’s political action committee. Before joining Ford Motor Company, Ms. Khani was associate director of government relations at Planned Parenthood Pennsylvania Advocates where she managed several successful statewide campaigns on health and welfare issues. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from New York University and a Master of Public Administration degree from George Washington University.


Lewis Sandy, M.D.Header image for Lewis Sandy, M.D.Lewis G. Sandy, M.D., FACP is Executive Vice President, Clinical Advancement, UnitedHealth Group (a Fortune 25 diversified health and well-being company dedicated to helping people live healthier lives).  At UnitedHealth Group he focuses on clinical innovation, payment/delivery reforms to modernize our health care system, and physician collaboration.  He also is a Principal in the UnitedHealth Center for Health Reform and Modernization, with a focus on payment/delivery innovation and policy.  From 2003 to 2007, he was EVP and Chief Medical Officer of UnitedHealthcare, UnitedHealth Group’s largest business focusing on the employer/individual health benefits market.  From 1997 to 2003, he was EVP of The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.  At RWJF, he was responsible for the Foundation's program development and management, strategic planning and administrative operations. Prior to this, Dr. Sandy was a program VP of the Foundation, focusing on the Foundation's workforce, health policy, and chronic care initiatives. An internist and former health center medical director at the Harvard Community Health Plan in Boston, Massachusetts, Dr. Sandy received his B.S. and M.D. degrees from the University of Michigan and an M.B.A. degree from Stanford University.  A former RWJF Clinical Scholar and Clinical Fellow in Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, Dr. Sandy served his internship and residency at the Beth Israel Hospital in Boston. He is a Senior Fellow of the University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Department of Health Policy and Management.



Header image for Robert Nesse, M.D.Robert Nesse, M.D., was born in Toledo, Ohio, and received his Bachelor of Arts degree from St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota, in 1973. He attended Wayne State University School of Human Medicine and received his Doctor of Medicine degree in 1977. Dr. Nesse completed residency training at Oakwood Hospital in Dearborn, Michigan, in 1980 and is board-certified in family medicine. On August 1, 1980, he joined the staff of Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. He served as the residency program director for family medicine from 1984–1990 and was vice chair of the Mayo Clinic Department of Family Medicine from 1990–1996.

Dr. Nesse was the physician chair of the John Deere Clinic Development Committee and served on the steering committee that developed the Institute for Clinical Systems Integration in Minneapolis. In 1996, Dr. Nesse joined the Mayo Clinic Rochester Board of Governors and served as vice chairman of the board from 1999–2004. From 2005–2013, Dr. Nesse was a member of the Mayo Clinic Board of Governors and the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees. He continues to serve as an ex-officio member of the Board of Governors. Dr. Nesse is a current member of the Management Executive Committee of Mayo Clinic and the Management Executive Operations Group for Mayo Clinic in the Midwest. He is also the chair of the Board of Directors for Mayo Management Services. In 2006, Dr. Nesse was elected to the Board of Directors of the American Medical Group Association and joined the AMGA Executive Committee in 2008. He served as the chair of the AMGA Board of Directors in 2012 and completed his service in the AMGA Executive Committee on December 31, 2013.

From January 1, 2004, to July 1, 2010, Dr. Nesse served as the president and chief executive officer of the Mayo Clinic Health System—Franciscan in La Crosse, Wisconsin. On July 1, 2010, Dr. Nesse became the chief executive officer of the Mayo Clinic Health System and served in this role until September 2015. He is currently the Senior Medical Advisor to the Mayo Clinic Board of Governors for Payment Reform.


Header image for Curt Hanson, M.D.Curt Hanson, M.D., is an internationally recognized hematopathologist who is a Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester. He received his pathology training at the University of Minnesota and became a tenured faculty in Hematopathology at the University of Michigan before moving to Mayo Clinic in 1993.

Dr. Hanson has authored more than 200 articles and book chapters and has had a long-term interest in laboratory management and bone marrow pathology with emphasis on translational research related to the study and understanding of hematologic disease. He is also the former chair of the Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology at Mayo Clinic.



flott-headerDon Flott has served in in various administrative roles at Mayo Clinic for over 25 years. Currently, Don is providing administrative support to a group of physicians and scientists charged with leading a number of laboratory test utilization initiatives enterprise wide and for Mayo Medical Laboratories.